Who We Are

Mission Statement

The Council on Renal Nutrition (CRN) functions as a professional council within the framework of the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) and networks with other organizations to support the National Kidney Foundation's goal of making lives better for those with chronic kidney disease through education, outreach and research in the field of nutrition as it pertains to prevention, eradication and treatment of kidney and urologic diseases.

CRN 5-year Goals and Accomplishments (2008-2012)

GOAL 1: Promote and encourage quality nutrition care of all patients with CKD
GOAL 2: Support the profession of the nephrology dietitian and promote professional education
GOAL 3: Develop and promote patient and public education
GOAL 4: Stimulate, support, encourage and disseminate nutrition-related research
GOAL 5: Impact regulatory and legislative issues
GOAL 6: Maintain and increase Council membership
GOAL 7: Maintain fiscal accountability within the NKF structure in support of CRN goals

View the progress toward goals

Executive Committee

CRN Executive Committee

The CRN Executive Committee is composed of fourteen members:

  • Chair
  • Associate Chair
  • Immediate Past Chair
  • Membership Chair
  • Publications Chair and Co-Chair
  • Clinical Nephrology Program Chair and Co-Chair
  • Professional Education Chair
  • Regional Representatives of the five National Kidney Foundation Regions.

The NKF-CRN Executive Committee, as listed below, meets several times a year. Its members are eager to help you with any questions regarding NKF-CRN and professional issues related to the practice of renal nutrition. Executive Committee meetings are held during the NKF Clinical Nephrology Meeting in the spring and one additional time in the year. The additional meeting is coordinated with the NKF Board. CRN also has Alternate Region Representatives, who can provide you with additional assistance.

The CRN National Membership elects most of the members of the Executive Committee. Committee members also serve on various ad hoc committees to develop special projects and position papers to further the goals, priorities, and interests of CRN.

The Executive Committee members are listed below. Please feel free to contact your Region Representative or any other Executive Committee member at any time to provide us with your ideas, to volunteer for a special project, or whenever you need additional information. There are five CRN regions. Determine your region representative.

The effectiveness of the Executive Committee is directly related to knowing and responding to the needs of Local Chapters and Members.

Print committee list

CHAIR: Jessie Pavlinac, MS, RD, CSR, LD
Ph: (503) 494-3762
pavlinac@ohsu.edu
Jean Stover, RD, LDN
Chair-Elect (Acting)
Ph: (610) 306-4317
jbstover1@verizon.net
Lisa A. Gutekunst, MSEd, RD, CSR, CDN
Immediate Past Chair
Ph: (716) 870-0254
lisa.gutekunst@davita.com
Laura J. Holden, MBA, RD, CSR
Secretary
Ph: (602) 304-1977
lholden@dsi-corp.com
Marie Becker, MS, RD, LDN
SCM14 Program Chair
Ph: (321) 946-9966
marie.becker@davita.com
Kristine D'Angelo David, RD
SCM14 Program Co-Chair
Ph: (860) 485-8739
kristine.david@sigmatau.com
Trisha Fuhrman, MS, RD, LD, FADA
Publications Editor
Ph: (636) 458-5460
nutrisha50@earthlink.net
Cathy Goeddeke-Merickel, MS, RD, LD
Publications Co-Editor
Ph: (402) 314-7814
cmgmerickel@gmail.com
Judy R. Kirk, MS, RD, CDN, CSR
Region I Representative;
Patient & Public Education Chair
Ph: (585) 794-0226
judy.kirk@rochestergeneral.org
Melissa Altman-Traub, MS, RD, CSR, LDN Region I Alternate Representative
Ph: (215) 491-5408
melissatraubrd@aol.com
Isabel Wynn, RD, LD
Region II Representative;
Awards Chair

Ph: (404) 857-5248
miwynn@outlook.com
Gwendolyn Harris, RD, LD
Region II Alternate Representative
Ph: (404) 696-7303
gwendoly.h@att.net
Cynthia K. Clancy, MS, RD, LD
Region III Representative;
CyberNephrology Chair
Ph: (314) 762-0089
cynthia.clancy@fmc-na.com
Stacey Wainscott, RD, BSN, RN
Region III Alternate Representative
Ph: (317) 358-3399
stacey.wainscott@fmc-na.com
Aida Moreno Brown, MS, RD, LD
Region IV Representative;
Membership Chair
Ph: (915) 637-5060
lettymoreno@sbcglobal.net
Meredith Larsen, MS, RD, LD
Region IV Alternate Representative
Ph: (214) 669-4912
mer.larsen@yahoo.com
Karen S. Dunker, RD
Region V Representative;
Research, Public Relations Chair
Ph: (480) 529-3391
karenlouisecrn5@gmail.com
Marisol Avila, RD, CDE
Region V Alternate Representative
Ph: (909) 856-1936
marisol.rd.cde@gmail.com
NATIONAL STAFF:
Denise Dilley
Professional Council Activities Director
National Kidney Foundation
30 East 33rd Street
New York, NY 10016-5337
Ph: (800) 622-9010 x174
Fax: (212) 689-9261
denise.dilley@kidney.org